It’s been a while.

Here’s something I wrote at Glow In the Woods.

I didn’t really finish the post there. The odds got me again. Invasive Ductal Carcinoma. For fuck’s sake. It’s never enough.

The doctors have been quick to assure me that this is the good kind of breast cancer. Ok. Sure. We’ll see how that goes, says my inner cynic. The one who knows the odds and how they work.

I was supposed to have surgery tomorrow, but then after three years of dodging it – the incredibly contagious virus that the odds said I should’ve already had – I finally caught Covid and my surgery is delayed.

I like in bed at night trying not to imagine the tumour growing.

Send good thoughts, please. If you’re reading. I think things will be ok, but those of you reading here will know: the odds are real motherfuckers.